The one time I was offended because someone spoke how I was pretending to speak.

A while back I taught myself how to speak with a British accent for fun.  Actually I did it so I could be more versatile in improvisation skits, but that’s a whole different story.  It wasn’t a very good one, and at times it probably had some Scottish, Australian, South African or some aspects of other different types of British accents thrown in.  I think it can be pretty convincing to the average American listener though.

Anyways, back to the story, I had the joy of working at a fast food joint which shall remain nameless.  I took it as an opportunity to work on practicing the art of the British accent.  I think I did pretty well.  I used it for about two days straight (about 5 hours each day).  I even trained one new guy with it.

Here’s the funny part.  On the second day, actual British people came in (or what sounded like British people to my untrained ear).  I heard them speak and I immediately became offended.  I thought to myself, is this guy trying to copy my speech?  Did I just hear him speak without an accent, now he’s definitely mocking me…  Perhaps it was the fear of being caught not having a real British accent.  I’m not quite sure.  Either way I stuck with it for fun.

Maybe the story isn’t so funny.  Maybe it’s just interesting.  Interesting that a person could be offended by situation like this.

Leave a Reply

