“Sleep Paralysis.”

It’s one of those nights, when I lie awake

when things aren’t right

not again, give me a break.

Lying there paralyzed, stricken with fear

It was then that I realized,

That she wasn’t as near.

Often at bed-side, or hovering above me

But just not tonight

That wretched old banshee.

I can’t make a sound, my fingers don’t work

She creeps like a hound

I’m going berserk.

My body drips sweat, my eyes moving quick

Her eyes and mine met

I start feeling sick.

She starts to stroll near, I just want to shout

I kick into gear

GET OUT!

It was only a dream.  Just go back to sleep.

Copyright 2015

Leave a Reply

