Intriguing. Suspenseful. Creative.

Click here to see the details on Amazon -> Intriguing. Suspenseful. Creative.

If I had to describe “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern in three words, those would be it.  As I recently began my 52 books in 52 weeks challenge, I came across this book when scouring the web for an interesting, but modern read.  Having performed in a circus (just a few shows at an amateur University circus) before, this went to the top of my list.  At first I was quite hesitant, because I read there was “romance,” and thought this was going to be another Twilight or 50 Shades (nothing against those stories, but they are just not for me).  To my surprise the book had used romance very sparingly, and provided the insight into the lives of a multitude of characters.

From the moment you open the book, you are drawn into the world of the novel (as any good book should).  The author does a great job of “inviting” the reader into her fantasy.  Without going too in depth about the book, and potentially giving spoilers, I just want to say this book captures your attention from the beginning.  This book grabs your imagination, and leads you through a world filled with vivid landscapes, trickery, life, death, animals, acrobats, contortionists, and ethereal beings.  Morgenstern plays to her strengths very well through her use of imagery creating a world for the reader.

Another aspect of the book I really enjoyed was the multitude of characters I had the opportunity to meet.  Every character in the book will captivate you into wondering what will happen to them next, why they are there, and what secrets they may be carrying.  Each chapter often follows the Circus through the eyes of a different character (including yourself) and ends with a slight cliffhanger leaving you in bewildered amusement.  I often said to myself “Ahhhh!  Why can’t the author just tell me what’s going to happen next now instead of making me wait a chapter.”

Overall, in terms of plot, I will have to say I enjoyed the overall feel and character developments.  The story does not really take any “unexpected” turns due to good foreshadowing, so if you’re looking for a novel full of shocking plot twists this is not for you.  The main focus seems to have been to create a world for the reader to appreciate, and enjoy with an intriguing story which Morgenstern accomplishes magnificently.  Men, when reading descriptions of this story, do not fear the “romance” aspect of this book.  You know there is going to be a love story simply by reading the synopsis.  However I appreciate Morgenstern for not making it the focus which probably would have made me stop reading.  If you’re looking for something new, something to fuel your imagination, something that keeps you on your feet, this is a good one to pick up.  With all that said, I definitely see this being an absolutely incredible IMAX film in the future even just for the visual experience.

Leave a Reply

